Take Action on These Three Gun Bills!

Take Action on These Three Gun Bills!

Three gun bills will be heard in the Senate Judiciary Committee next week, Tuesday, December 5, 2017 at 2 PM EST. The bills were previously postponed in the committee but they are back! We ask that you contact the committee members and request that they oppose these bills:

SB 274 Concealed Weapons and Firearms in Multiuse Facilities by Sen. Kelly Stargel (R-Lakeland): This bill would allow holders of concealed weapons permits to carry their firearms onto private school campuses where religious institutions are on property. Guns have no place on school campuses. Permit holders do not have the tactical training to respond to a shooting that may occur. That is the job of law enforcement.

SB 134 Courthouse Carry by Sen. Greg Steube (R-Sarasota): This proposal would allow permit holders to carry their firearms into a courthouse, check them with security, then retrieve them on the way out. Law enforcement officers are present inside courthouses. Thus, there is no need to allow permit holders to take their guns into settings that are often rife with emotional turmoil.

SB 148 Open Carry Protection by Sen. Greg Steube (R-Sarasota): This bill would reduce the penalties for “temporary” open carry by permit holders. SB 148 does not specifically define the terms of “temporary,” thus it is unclear just how long permissible exposure of the gun would be to qualify for reduced penalties.

Please call the members of the committee and ask them to vote NO on these bills:

Sen. Greg Steube, Chair: (850) 487-5023

Sen. Lizbeth Benacquisto, Vice Chair: (850) 487-5027

Sen. Randolph Bracy: (850) 487-5011

Sen. Rob Bradley: (850) 487-5005

Sen. Anitere Flores: 850) 487-5039

Sen. Rene Garcia: 850-487-5036

Sen. Audrey Gibson: 850-487-5006

Sen. Debbie Mayfield: (850) 487-5017

Sen. Bobby Powell: (850) 487-5030

Sen. Perry E. Thurston, Jr. : (850) 487-5033

 

If you cannot make phone calls but would like to send email correspondence, below are the Senators’ email addresses. Simply copy and paste the addresses into your ‘To:’ field:

steube.greg@flsenate.gov

benacquisto.lizbeth@flsenate.gov

bracy.randolph@flsenate.gov

bradley.rob@flsenate.gov

flores.anitere@flsenate.gov

garcia.rene@flsenate.gov

gibson.audrey@flsenate.gov

mayfield.debbie@flsenate.gov

powell.bobby@flsenate.gov

thurston.perry@flsenate.gov

 

Thank you! Let’s keep fighting for gun safety in Florida!

In League,

Pamela Goodman

President

Blog Categories

Stay Connected!

Sign up to get news and alerts by email on the issues you're most interested in

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
P.O. Box 10884 Tallahassee, FL 32302-2884
Telephone: (850) 224-2545 | Fax: (850) 222-4485

Orlando Web Design by CREATE180 Design