Action Alert: Oppose SB 740 in Senate Appropriations Committee!

SB 740 is scheduled to be heard by the Senate Appropriations Committee on Thursday, Feb. 15 at 1 PM. This is a massive agricultural bill that deals with oyster harvesting, revising standards of water vending machines, and more. However, conveniently tucked in pages 88-90 of this 98 page bill is language that would require the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services to grant a Concealed Weapons Permit applicant their permit within 90 days, even if a full background check has not been completed.

How ironic that a bill creating the “Government Impostor and Deceptive Advertisements Act” would hide this language where few would look for it!

It’s time to stop playing political games with gun safety. No one should be granted a concealed weapons permit unless a full background check has been completed. That’s just common sense. Please contact the Appropriations Committee today and ask that they remove this language from the bill.

Senate Appropriations Committee

Chair: Senator Rob Bradley (R)
(850) 487-5005
bradley.rob@flsenate.gov

Vice Chair: Senator Anitere Flores (R)
(850) 487-5039
flores.anitere@flsenate.gov

Senator Dennis Baxley (R)
(850) 487-5012
baxley.dennis@flsenate.gov

Senator Aaron Bean (R)
(850) 487-5004
bean.aaron@flsenate.gov

Senator Lizbeth Benacquisto (R)
(850) 487-5027
benacquisto.lizbeth@flsenate.gov

Senator Lauren Book (D)
(850) 487-5032
book.lauren@flsenate.gov

Senator Randolph Bracy (D)
(850) 487-5011
bracy.randolph@flsenate.gov

Senator Jeff Brandes (R)
(850) 487-5024
brandes.jeff@flsenate.gov

Senator Oscar Braynon II (D)
(850) 487-5035
braynon.oscar@flsenate.gov

Senator George B. Gainer (R)
(850) 487-5002
gainer.george@flsenate.gov

Senator Bill Galvano (R)
(850) 487-5021
galvano.bill@flsenate.gov

Senator Audrey Gibson (D)
(850) 487-5006
gibson.audrey@flsenate.gov

Senator Denise Grimsley (R)
(850) 487-5026
grimsley.denise@flsenate.gov

Senator Bill Montford (D)
(850) 487-5003
montford.bill@flsenate.gov

Senator Kathleen Passidomo (R)
(850) 487-5028
passidomo.kathleen@flsenate.gov

Senator Bobby Powell (D)
(850) 487-5030
powell.bobby@flsenate.gov

Senator David Simmons (R)
(850) 487-5009
simmons.david@flsenate.gov

Senator Wilton Simpson (R)
(850) 487-5010
simpson.wilton@flsenate.gov

Senator Kelli Stargel (R)
(850) 487-5022
stargel.kelli@flsenate.gov

Senator Linda Stewart (D)
(850) 487-5013
stewart.linda@flsenate.gov

Blog Categories

Stay Connected!

Sign up to get news and alerts by email on the issues you're most interested in

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
P.O. Box 1911 Orlando, FL 32802-1911
Telephone: (850) 224-2545 | Fax: (850) 222-4485

Orlando Web Design by CREATE180 Design